How Flashcards Fail: Confessions of a Tired Memory Guy

This man has thought a great deal about SRS. Many of the points he makes are things that I have encountered myself, sometimes realizing that they were problems, sometimes not, but always suffering from them nonetheless. One thing that I never thought about in a concrete way was the idea that SRS kills clustering, which is a way that our brain holds information together. A way to solve this problem might be to group flashcards into different decks better, but that might create a whole new problem of having way too many decks. Anyway, a few of my musings aside, I thought this was a really interesting article. It felt kind of like the article addressing the elephant in the room. 

Leave a comment

  • japaneseclass.jp

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 36 other subscribers